Saturday, 01 February 2020 16:04

Why Trump placed immigration and travel Ban on Nigeria, others

Written by Administrator
Buhari Buhari

President Trump has placed travel restrictions and outright immigration ban on Nigeria and other five countries Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar,   Sudanese and Tanzanian.

These two Asian and four more African countries  travel were restricted and Trump suspended immigrant visas for citizens of Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, and Nigeria and suspended Sudanese and Tanzanian citizens from participating in the U.S. “visa lottery” system.


Image result for nigeria ban us travel

“Defending American lives and safety is the President’s highest duty, ”  was the focal point of the travel ban according  to  a statement released by White House Press Secretary Stephanie Grisham .

The statement further stated : “The new restrictions will not apply to tourist, business, or other nonimmigrant travel,” the White House said in a statement regarding the additional six countries. “The Administration will work with the non-compliant countries to bring them into compliance with United States security standards.”

“It is fundamental to national security, and the height of common sense, that if a foreign nation wishes to receive the benefits of immigration and travel to the United States, it must satisfy basic security conditions outlined by America’s law-enforcement and intelligence professionals.” 

These countries  “fail to conduct proper identity management protocols and procedures, or that fail to provide information necessary to comply with basic national security requirements,”  the  statement concluded.


Last modified on Saturday, 01 February 2020 16:10