Wednesday, 22 December 2010 13:00

African player of the year - Samuel Eto

Written by AP
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Samuel Eto'o voted African player of the year



CAIRO (AP) — Samuel Eto'o has been voted African player of the year for a record fourth time.

The forward for Inter Milan and Cameroon finished ahead of Ghana forward Asamoah Gyan and Ivory Coast striker Didier Drogba in votes cast by the coaches of African's 53 national teams.

Eto'o, who also won the award in 2003, 2004 and 2005, helped Inter Milan win an unprecedented treble of Serie A, Italian Cup and Champions League titles last season.

Abedi Pele and George Weah each won the award three times.

Ghana won the team of the year award and Serbian Milovan Rajevac, who quit as Ghana coach's in September, was voted coach of the year.

Ahmed Hassan won the African-based player of the year award after leading Egypt to the African Cup of Nations title.


Last modified on Wednesday, 22 December 2010 15:58